Illinois Legislative Black Caucus Foundation announces scholarship awardees

SPRINGFIELD – Since 2002, the Illinois Legislative Black Caucus Foundation has given deserving students scholarships to assist them in advancing their academic and career goals. This year, the ILBCF will give 62 students $1,000 scholarships, which brings its total over $420,000 scholarship since the organizations inception. In light of Illinois current budget situation, the ILBCF believes that our scholarship program is pivotal in helping provide students with resources for achievement.

“Our budget situation has put some students behind and forced several thousand to drop out of college,” said Assistant majority Leader Kimberly A. Lightford, Joint Chairman of the Illinois Legislative Black Caucus. “It’s a shame that there are groups within government who feel college assistance is a luxury.”

The ILBCF has raised the bar by providing more scholarship this year than ever before. One of the requirements to apply for the scholarship was having an updated voter registration file, which registered over 340 students to vote.

“This year, the ILBCF nearly matched its record for scholarship applications received, which shows a growing need for tuition assistance,” said Larry Luster, Executive Director of the Illinois Legislative Black Caucus Foundation. “It is our responsibility to ensure our future generations have the tools they need to advance our community.”

Awardees will receive their scholarships at the Illinois Legislative Black Caucus Foundation’s scholarship golf outing on July 19th at Harborside International Golf Course.

Below is a list of scholarship awardees. See who is from your community.

Brianna Baymon Chicago
Michael Bell Chicago
Adebayo Bello Bloomington
Amber Bond O’Fallon
Cleonta Brown Peoria
Kennedy Brown Waukegan
Catherine Brown Chicago
Samaiya Butler Chicago
Mariah Byrd Chicago
Zana Carter Chicago
Rita Coleman Park Forest
Derrell Cook Belleville
Aloysius Cooper Chicago
Miles Curry Chicago
Janeise Davis Calumet city
Malik Drawhorn Pauldon St. Charles
Justin Funnye Buffalo Grove
Nia Gipson Chicago
Avona Greene Champaign
Peyton Greenwood Berkeley
Juanita Gunn Chicago Heights
Wandjell Harvey-Robinson Champaign
Dejunique Hearn Chicago
Brittany Henry Homewood
Drew Hubbard Peoria
QueAnthonee Jackson East St. Louis
Grace Jenkins Naperville
Kyle Johnson Chicago
Trae Jones Maywood
Kristopher Leggin Bellwood
Antonio Lewis Springfield
DeAnna Mahaffey Phoenix
Anthony Martin Fairview Heights
Kimberly Matthews Chicago
Kelsee McGowan Chicago
Antonio McKinney Chicago
Lydia Moore Chicago
Kiara Muhammad Chicago
Brandi Myles Springfield
Tykia Neal Aurora
Justin Omokaye Chicago
Tiara Perkins Springfield
Ashley Prunty Rockford
Ajua Pryor Chicago
Tavis Reed Oswego
Kiya Reeves Chicago
Alexa Renfro Elmhurst
Alanis Rich Richton Park
Damian  Richardson Oak Park
Mariah Rouse Broadview
Ronald Seals III Chicago
Joshua Simmons Westchester
Nia Singleton Chicago
Jasmin Smoot Dolton
William Spence Chicago
Maya Sykes Hazel Crest
Danielle Terry Country Club Hills
Imani Turner Calumet City
jasmine Washington Chicago
Glennita Williams South Holland
Eric Yuen Jr Chicago

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s